• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

First timer's first journey...

Anstapor

Seedling
Hello. :wave:

I've been having a bit of a conversation in my Newcomers intro post and a good piece of advice there was to start a post here - probably more relevant discussing actual issues and opinions here than there.

So, the basics - I've never had a fish, nor an aquatic plant, nor a tank - so I am the quintessential n00b. I've been reading a lot, asking questions, and taking advice on board.

Equipment - Juwel Vision 180, Eheim Pro 3 350 external filter, Hydor 300W external heater.
Stuff for the aquascape - 18l Amazonia, 25kg Baltic Rock, 12.5kg Unipac Nyassa sand, 1 bit of Redmoor root.

Goal - As a newbie I wanted to keep things fairly simple to avoid major issues and am perfectly happy going with plants you more experienced folks may find boring by now! ;) I haven't made a final decision on plants so that's one area I'm definitely in need of more research and advice.

Anyway, I'm aware a wall of text is rather dull so I'll post up a few pics to set the scene. The first is my tank, in position, on a stand I made (standard ones are too high for my tastes) from pergola posts, carcassing timber and, made semi-presentable, with Danish Oil.

IMG_20150814_111705b_zpsnxmvi0n2.jpg

The next pics are my floorplan potential aquascape. Please note that the rocks at the front left are just to show the line of rock/soil/plants against the sand which will occupy the whole of the marked space up to the bowfront and in the canyon, they won't actually be there like that. I realise I'm making a newbie mistake already - rock and wood - I should probably just stick to one! But I really liked that bit of Redmoor and I liked the idea of a canyon. Not sure it will work out but hey, you gotta just try sometimes, right? :)

IMG_20150828_192335b_zpsyvfsmppq.jpg