• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Juwel Rio 300(or 240) Light fault - replacing 2x T8 to 2x T5HO

Sidlas

Seedling
Hi,
Im very new to all this so i would like to say sorry before i start as i might get something wrong or sound a bit silly.. you can feel free to correct me and im willing to learn from my mistakes.
Right so....
I bought a Juwel Rio 300 second hand tank with cabinet
When i got home i cleaned tank, and plugged in lights - it went on for 30-40 sec and then just switched it self off... and now i can't get them back at all.

So i done a bit of reading and found out that it's a common problem with Juwel lights and as im not scared of DIY jobs i decided to fix the light my self instead of buying one for over £100, As im planing to grow Live plants i decided that i might replace old 2xT8 which is only 36W to a 2x54w HO T5.

So far i managed to open original light case by cutting it with a hot knife and when i managed to open it i could see that my T8 ballast has burns on it. Also i found that there was a bit of moist in actual casing. So that raised a question - When i put everything back in place should i add a small fan in each side so it makes some sort of air circulation and keeps ballast cool and dry?

These are the bits im planning to order soon ( just thought i should seek for advice before i do that)
They all should make a complete 2x 54w HO T5 set in a original T8 case.

• 2x T5 end caps, tube holders - waterproof - £12
  • Tridonic Atco 2 x 54 Watt HO T5 Electronic Ballast - £19.15
  • 2x iQuatics 54w HO T5 Tube(1047mm) - £17.99
  • 2x 70g waterproof silicone - £3.00

Total: £52.14 that doesn't include wires as i got some of them in my shed.

Also im not sure about reflectors - do i need them?

Haven't really decided yet what bulbs i should use - any suggestions?