• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

lighting a deep tank ?

benjamin

Seedling
hi all just a note !!im very very new to the idear of keeping plants so if this seem's a silly question sorry :?
i need to start thinking about lighting for my tank. and if i can id like to use the lighting i already have to save me expense and hassle .
the tank is deep at 36 inch and i have to hand 2 sets of twin arcadia series 3 metal halide .currently runing 2x 20k 250 wat bulbs in each set
any advice would be realy helpfull .
iv asked a few pepole about this but not got any real reply
thanks all
ben. :)

Hi ben welcome along. That's a lot of light mate even for a very deep tank. You might be better off with t8 tubes for no c02 low maintenance route or or t5 if you want a c02 high mantinace tank

thanks for welcome dan . :thumbup:
i trust what you say fella .and im in no position to think i know better .
if i go for t8 im thinking il need maybe 5-6 tubes ?? or could i change the 4 halide bulbs down to say 14k 150watt ?
if needs must i will change over light sets .im just wondering if i can keep my current sets .
cheers dan
ben.

Have a read up of this mate it might answer some of your questions. MH lighting is an option but there are issues with high lighting.

thanks again mate ......did you mean to post a link? lol
ben.

That is a deep tank :wideyed:
A lot depends on what you want to achieve - yes you could use 500w of MH if you inject loads of C02 & are prepared for the high maintenance involved.
You really need to first of all decide on how fast you want your plants to grow & what type of scape you would like?

ok err wer do i start lol
maybe if i list some of the stuff i have already ?
and she tank spec and hardwear i have. someone can give me some idear's as to what i should be looking to achieve as a newbi in the planted tank world ?