• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

mercury vapour

Robthekop

Seedling
Just setting up a 5' x 15"x 24" planted tank in my fishroom (converted garage) , I'm new to this level of planted tank i.e. CO2 and high end lighting and substrate etc, my local fish shop owner has kindly given me free of charge a pair of Bioplast black pendant mercury vapour lighting plus a CO2 regulator and solenoid valve, presumably from what was once his planted stock section.

I have set up the MV lighting and have noticed it gets as hot as the Metal Halide light over my reef tank and the light is also somewhat yellowish. Few questions, how close to the surface of tank do the pendants drop? would I be better off ditching them for T5 compacts or are these lights worth running with still?, do I have to supplement it with a beauty/gro-lux lighting to enhance colour within the tank, are there alternative replacement bulbs out there?

Hi all,
Mercury Vapour lamps (all discharge lamps in fact) run very hot, because the light is emitted from an inner fused quartz glass capsule in which the metal is ionized at very high temperatures to create an arc between the electrodes. The emission spectra from the mercury are heavily biased to the UV and blue end of the spectrum, so the yellow colours must be caused by the phosphors on lamp coating.

They must also be very old stock, as MV lamps are quite difficult to get now having been superseded by MH (mercury with a halide impurity added) or high pressure sodium lamps. The EU has banned the use of all MV lighting from 2015.

They will be magnetically ballasted or may possibly be self-ballasted & have a tungsten filament in the bulb? (MBTF or MBSE on the lamp). If they are self-ballasted they run even hotter and have an increased risk of catastrophic failure if moisture gets on the lamp.