• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

New tank lighting suggestions

Kogre

Hi all,

I'm new to the concept of a planted tank and am looking to go high tech over the next couple of months. The length of my tank will be 68" with a width of 24". The tank I'll be purchasing comes with a hood and condensation covers but either no lighting or poor lighting. I'm going to opt with no lighting as I want to install something that will effectively grow carpet plants at a depth of 30".

I've been looking into lighting and have come to understand that it comes at various lengths. What would or could you recommend to me to purchase that would give me medium to high amount of light in a tank that has an estimated capacity of 198 US gallons, 164 Imperial gallons or 750 litres while getting good horizontal coverage due to the bespoke size? Can I screw the light units into the hood? Would it be better not to have the hood?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. ;)

have a look at the TMC grotiles with a aquaray controller.

the controller allows good management of the intensity which is the cause of much woe in high tech tanks...

The MMC mounting system means that you can screw into the hood or suspend over the top as you prefer.

I quite like that controller. I'm not so sure about the lights though, I couldn't find anything against TMC grotiles.

Will I need to buy ballasts? Are ballasts the what the bulbs go into? Sorry for the ignorance here.

Ideally I'd like to have either 4 or 8 bulbs in all. The Arcadia 35W 30" would be perfect size-wise, but I'd definitely need 8 of those. Even then the light wouldn't be bright enough, at a paltry 1.41wpg.