• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

pps pro and high nitrates in tap water

wayne17

Seedling
hi i am fairly new to the hobby got my first tank last july, for the last couple of months i have been dosing ferts to my tank using the pps pro method. everything seems ok in the tank but when i tested for nitrates they were about 80ppm, so i tested my tap water and this came out at over 40ppm using api master kit.
i thought perhaps my soloutions were off so bought another api nitrate test kit and got the same results.
my question is should i stop adding the potassium nitrate that is in the pps pro formula?. should i add more potassium sulphate to compenste for not putting in the potassium nitrate or just add the formula without the nitrate?
any help much appreciated
wayne

Hello,
You need to stop using nitrate test kits because they cannot give you accurate or consistent information.

Cheers,

Hi and thanks for you reply
I take it that you would recommend just to carry on with the pps pro dosing. Like I said earlier I am new to this and trying to learn as much as I can but if you can't trust the api nitrate test how do you know if your nitrates are high? Don't want to harm the fish
Thanks wayne

Well, I'm not really a fan of PPS, primarily because that system is founded on three basic principles that have proven to be totally false:
The first false principle is:
That nutrients cause algae. Algae really do not care what the nutrient levels of the tank are. When both plants and algae are in a tank the algae respond to the health of the plants. If the plants are healthy then algae do not interfere. If the plants are unhealthy then this triggers algal blooms.

The second false principle is: