• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

What strain of Angelfish do I have

I am new to angels, I have had these for several months now. They are doing good I think. What kinda are they?
a49a7bb1c17535b5d22dd822680cf9b6.jpg
e92296b6a871d18d386f10730d9c9293.jpg
a3e2631e7f9a1d1e92877a02ab254451.jpg
8c9d7f3f27f2d0d3113a155a0f0a3c05.jpg
3e222c695d75d1f957e0a6c95a325379.jpg
6c3110e7e66e54091846046f2da4b95b.jpg
bafda03e53e829c54cad742426027745.jpg
96ee4b633dc8ad3faaaf50c2b31de361.jpg
834ea65dcdf7966b2bdd5906d93c0d6c.jpg

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Tapatalk

There actualy only is one strain of angelfish in nature, the closest to it is this one.
//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160129/bafda03e53e829c54cad742426027745.jpg

All the others are mutated cultivars which where all bred in captivity.. I believe the true natural colored angelfish isn't even to be found anymore in the lfs, they are bred for so many generation and numbers, there's no need anymore for wild catch and the real wild color is bred out of it...In the angle scene the color patern probably has a name whish obviously is a fantasy name. It's no garanty like if you breed with 2 types of the same color patern that all the offspring will be the same. They are selected paterns put together when shipped to lfs. So i guess it's hardly to call a typical strain.. Commercial fish breeders have developed so their methods to induce certain mutations, but i have no idea if this is the case with angelfish and if it is bombarded as strain the way it is with (fancy) goldfishes.. :)