• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Water column dosing and substrate questions

Abacus

Seedling
Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie, so these questions may sound silly, but here goes...! :D

Firstly, what is water column dosing? I'm guessing by the name it's a tube that goes into the substrate into which you pour fertiliser? Is that correct or is there more to it? And are there any special tubes etc that you need to buy to do this? Any other info such as positioning etc will be gratefully received...

Secondly, I have an established tank with quite a few plants and livestock. I only put basic gravel in when I first set it up about a year ago, but I'd now like to add some proper substrate (e.g. ADA Amazonia etc). Can I do this, or will there be major problems with ammonia spikes etc? Can anyone please suggest a substrate that will allow me to re-introduce the livestock on the same day?

Many thanks in advance for all your comments.

Here is some info that may be useful in answering my questions:

Tank size is 150l
Fluval 205 external filter, UV and heater
Hydor Green NRG CO2 system
2 x T5 lighting built into hood
Approx 75 plants of 15 species (5 each of back, mid and foreground)
About 30" of community fish

substitute water column for just water... ie the fertiliser is soluble and dissolved in the tank water

needs to be at correct ratio as algae can feed from the water just aswell as plants and so imbalance here are more of a problem , whilst substrate is accessed more typical by root structures , of which plants have more

does that help
andrew

Hi,