• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Do I need to cycle a planted tank

paulsballs

Seedling
Hi I am totally new to aquascaping I have ordered a dennerle 60l cube full set up Wich comes with substrate and gravel lights and filter. I would like to do a low tech set up with a few shrimp just confused about cycling think maybe I have read to much info on the subject .

Hi all,
just confused about cycling think maybe I have read to much info on the subject
You don't need to "cycle" the tank by adding ammonia, it doesn't serve any useful purpose and may inhibit the development of an appropriate microbial community.

I like to plant the tank and then leave it to "grow in". Have a look at <"Oxygen levels required..."> and linked threads.

If you have actively growing plants you have "plant/microbe filtration", which is much efficient and flexible than "microbe only" biofiltration.

cheers Darrel

Last edited:
Hi. Yes, the nitrogen cycle must be completed to ensure any waste products from fish or shrimp are converted into less harmful products by your filter.
Plants can remove a little ammonia but nowhere near enough to keep water safe for your livestock.
Please read about cycling and the nitrogen cycle.
Enjoy your tank, scaping and feel free to ask questions.

Hi all,
Plants can remove a little ammonia but nowhere near enough to keep water safe for your livestock.
This honestly isn't true, you get it a lot in cycling posts, but you only have to look at the scientific literature for ample evidence that "plant/microbe filtration" is much more efficient than "microbe only" bio-filtration.

A lot of people still see plants as a form of decoration, but they aren't, they are the single most important factor in biological filtration.