• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Do we really need that much fertiliser ?

foxfish

I have been using standard EI fertilisation for many years, it has been successful & easy enough, however I was wondering about something.......

Every year I have several emersed tanks growing around my house and in the garden, I have featured them many times on this forum.

The growth in these tanks can be quite remarkable compared to my water filled tanks.
I know the main reasons for the lush & fast growth is based around the amount of available C02 & the massive amounts of light the tanks receive from the sun.
However I hardly fertilise these tanks at all!!
Sometimes I add some natural based fertiliser like chicken manure or even a few beads of slow release fertiliser into the original soil mix but, I most certainly don't add spoons full of powder every week!

I know all about the EI concept & I have no issues about using the method but, I do wonder if I really need to use only a small fraction of what I actually dose?

There are many members who regularly discus using 'double EI' or adding extra 'this or that' to their mix to avoid algae etc.
I was just wondering why my emersed plants grow so well with hardly any fertiliser if aquarium plants require so much when under water?

Reactions: tim
Hi all,
I know the main reasons for the lush & fast growth is based around the amount of available C02 & the massive amounts of light the tanks receive from the sun.
However I hardly fertilise these tanks at all!!
Sometimes I add some natural based fertiliser like chicken manure or even a few beads of slow release fertiliser into the original soil mix but, I most certainly don't add spoons full of powder every week!