• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Water changes

Kitbag

I have been keeping tropical tanks for 15 years and understand the need for regular water changes in those.

I’m new to planted tanks with low bio load from fish and am surprised by the size of water changes that are being carried out in this side of the hobby.

What’s the reason behind such large percentage water changes?

Thanks in advance.

It's really all about reducing the concentration of both dissolved and solid organic compounds to help to prevent algae.
Plants grown in high-energy tanks - those that are CO2 injected, with eutrophic dosing - produce a large amount of metabolic waste, and so require regular and substantial water changes.

Plants in low-energy tanks grow around 10x slower and therefore do not produce so much metabolic waste, therefore water changes do not need to be so substantial or frequent.

In a newly set up tank even more frequent water changes are often recommended to reduce the ammonia spikes often associated with cycling and to cope with the organics released by plants transitioning from emersed to immersed growth.

Plus water changes in general help to keep critters healthy and happy.

Hi all,
I have been keeping tropical tanks for 15 years and understand the need for regular water changes in those. I’m new to planted tanks with low bio load from fish and am surprised by the size of water changes that are being carried out in this side of the hobby. What’s the reason behind such large percentage water changes?
I'm a low tech tank keeper, but I still like regular water changes. I change a small volume every day, but you could change more water, more infrequently.