• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

LFS pricing and stock trends

idris

In the last 18months, one of LFSs I've visited most consistently over the last 5-10yrs seems to have moved steadily cowards selling more "exotic" or "wild" fish varieties, and simultaneously the costs of even more common fish has increased.

Has anyone else noticed similar trends?

I think inflation has been around 3% for the last coupl of years. Prices seem to have fone up by 20%-30%.
Wild species availbale have gone from two or three to 20+..
Not that I'm suggesting either factors are to be ignored.

It's not the increasing price of the fish but decreasing value of the money (inflation).

I am not an expert, however, while it isn't an even curve the pound has dropped in value and is dropping:

October 16th 2000 1 pound would buy 1.71 Euros (commercial rate)
October 21st 2019 1 pound would buy 1.15 Euros (commercial rate)

9th July 2014 1 pound would buy 1.71 dollars
9th of December 2019 1 pounds would buy 1.27 dollars

This means that products bought in dollars or Euros are more expensive. I am surprised that we haven't seen much higher price increases for the imported products that we use.

Ok .. but before anyone mentions The B Word, is it just this one LFS / chain, or is it across much of the hobby?
eg The other LFS I visit, just a 5min drive away,seems to have kept it's prices lower. (Maybe they just use UK breeders )