• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Cyanobacteria Identification - At Last!

Oscillatoria uses N in the production of Anatoxin otherwise known as Very Fast Death Factor...

Hi @X3NiTH

Many thanks for your input. I referred to the serious toxicity issue in post #3 above. When I discovered the term 'Very Fast Death Factor', I was gobsmacked! This seemed to be very relevant to what I'd witnessed with my GBRs and Panda Garras. There they all were one day - the epitome of health and about three days later, they were all dead. What could have happened? I could no longer afford to pay lip service to this thing called BGA.

I would welcome your further inputs in trying to remedy this problem. My background is in the field of electronics, not microbiology. I need all the help I can get. Please keep the suggestions coming.

JPC

I used SL Aqua Z2 to eradicate Blue / Green algae (Cyanobacteria).

Using the recommended dose and leaving in the tank for one week, before a water change, and my BGA was 100% gone.

Unfortunately I can't recommend SL Aqua Z2 as four days after said water change all my plants were dead.

I believe the plants died due to a tap water contamination, but I can't discount that the SL Aqua Z2 also played a role.

I used SL Aqua Z2 to eradicate Blue / Green algae (Cyanobacteria).

Using the recommended dose and leaving in the tank for one week, before a water change, and my BGA was 100% gone.

Unfortunately I can't recommend SL Aqua Z2 as four days after said water change all my plants were dead.

I believe the plants died due to a tap water contamination, but I can't discount that the SL Aqua Z2 also played a role.

Hi @Nick72