• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Critique my hardscape Opinions wanted on my first hardscape!

pinchez

20201029_211701.jpg

20201029_211642.jpg

This is my first attempt at an hardscape and it took me hours of constantly taking it down and re-building! I like the wood but still not sure of dragon stone on top of it, would love some feedback and thoughts?

I'll be using silica sand for substrate and will be planting easy grow plants and moss to begin with. BN Plec, Pea Puffer, Corys and Tetras will be going in.

Dragonstone looks great with the wood, like the arrangement. My only critique, and I'm an amateur too ;), is the white tipped piece of stone, in the mid ground, looks very precarious and for some reason keeps drawing my eye! I think with substrate in, though, it will look more established and bedded in.

Dragonstone looks great with the wood, like the arrangement. My only critique, and I'm an amateur too ;), is the white tipped piece of stone, in the mid ground, looks very precarious and for some reason keeps drawing my eye! I think with substrate in, though, it will look more established and bedded in.
Thanks

There's quite a hefty piece of branch going from bottom left to mid right and everything is very secure. I know what you mean about that white/grey on the middle stone but it kind of locks in to position with the branch and the stone beneath it, if i was to turn it around it wouldn't!

I agree with noodles, that it feels like its precarious even though it isnt, which keeps drawing attention. Will the soil be up to that level? Otherwise I'd recommend another rock underneath to ease that feeling a bit :) But I'm just an amateur as well.