• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Just a quick CO2/plant holding tank question.

ForestDave

Hi.
Total newbie here, so apologies in advance!
I've been doing the research but couldn't see much about holding tanks.

I've been gathering plants in a 200L holding tank for about 3 weeks now and should hopefully be doing a final scape and setting up the tank at the weekend. There's about 35 plants in there and I've been keeping the light low,(2x 39w T5s for 4.5hrs) and adding 50% Ei fertz and doing a water change every 3 days. Filter is a FX6 with a full width spray bar.
I've discovered in the past 3 weeks that my Ebay cheapo regulator is pretty uncontrollable and am replacing it with a CO2 Art dual stage one which I should hopefully receive tomorrow. The crap regulator didn't stop me trying to get the CO2 drop checker to go lime green over a 2 hours period ready for the lights on. I'm temporarilly using a in tank diffuser and found that even if I let it take 3 hours to turn lime green by the end of the 4.5hr light cycle it had gone more yellow. This happened yesterday and the plants obviously were not impressed and shed a load of decaying leaf matter. My KH is 4 and GH is 6 according to the NT lab test kit and there's no substrate. PH goes from 7 to at least 6 when the CO2 is on, (my test kit doesn't measure below 6).

I'm pondering whether
-on a short 4.5hr low light, low fert growing cycle, the plants maybe grow too fast with lots of CO2 and start dying after they run out of fertz?
-There is probably a degree of leaf die off from emersed leaves being replaced with submersed leaves.
-I probably should have done daily water changes?
-I put too much CO2 in and turned the water too acidic?

Any tips on what's going on here please?
Thanks!!

Are the plants new? As in just bought and have been grown emersed?