• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Needing help adjusting light intensities for Current USA Serene Sun Pro Le

Plant Boy

Seedling
Recently bought the Current Usa Serene Sun Pro Le light fixture for my 75 gallon aquarium. There are glass covers on the top of the aquarium. There are medium/ highlight plants. Medium to heavy plant mass. Needing enough light to reach lower leafs of purple cabomba and alteranthia reneki, and to color them up. There are green plants in there too.Also would like to bring out colors of south american puffers and cardinal tetras.Question is what should I set the light intensities on the ramp controller. I can control the white,blue,red and green.

Hi @Plant Boy , Welcome to UKAPS! :) To get the best expert advice, the experts will need more info about your tank. Such as whether you Inject CO2 etc.
I am no expert, but in general, your choice of color wont matter, as long as it's not totally off (and that may not even matter, but your plants and fish will look unnatural)... I'd say go for a color scheme that makes the plants a fish look good and don't worry - intensity is the key factor. If your running a low tech tank my advice would be to to go low on light intensity - when you think it's low, go lower - best advise I was ever given. You will have a hard time doing high intensity light in a planted tank without injecting CO2. IF you are injecting CO2 then well, then it depends... posting a picture and more details will be helpful.

Cheers,
Michael

Last edited:
There are medium/ highlight plants. Medium to heavy plant mass. Needing enough light to reach lower leafs of purple cabomba and alteranthia reneki, and to color them up.
Hello,
There really are no such thing as medium or high light plants. This is a myth perpetuated by people who sell high lights.