• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Cycling a heavily planted tank

Gikas1

Hey everyone I'm quite new in heavily planted aquaria but I owned a light planted one for several years now... So I've heard from several people/sources that I need to cycle my (not yet purchased) heavily planted 200ltr tank with ammonia or other sources (food, already cycled media etc.) and from several others that I do not have to because the plants will eventually (in about a month and a half) do the cycling themselves... All I have to do until then is dosing a reduced amount of ferts and doing a water change about 2 times a week (also something I think you shouldn't do that much while cycling with ammonia for example)... So what would you suggest I should do? Will adding ammonia kill my plants or will the ammonia-less cycle work and I just add a few fish at a time after leaving it a month or so?

Many thanks for any advice!

HI and welcome to UKAPS, follow these links and they should answer your question.

HI and welcome to UKAPS, follow these links and they should answer your question.
Many thanks for the threads! I've read them both in detail and my question is mostly answered! Just one more question... Will all of this work with a substrate like flourite or with soil only?

Truth is it works with any substrate, if you use ada, seachem or similar soil then by default your tank will be ladend with ammonia, this may, or may not impeded the cycling process, however folks will tell you not to add ammonia, unless it's disguised in aqua soil.

Last edited:
Truth is it works with any substrate, if you use ada, seachem or similar soil then by default your tank will be ladend with ammonia, this may, or may not impeded the cycling process, however folks will tell you not to add ammonia, unless it's disguised in aqua soil.