• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Shrimps in high tech: how to do water changes and dose fertlisers

neofy705

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to high tech tanks and shrimp keeping. I'm basically scared to do large water changes and to use a high dosage of fertilisers.

How do you keep shrimps in a high tech tank?

For water changes:
EI method suggests 50% weekly
Shrimp keepers suggest 10% weekly eco
I tried doing 30% weekly but that still causes me to lose a shrimp the day after and I'm starting to get some algae.
I age the water for a day, I match temp kh and gh and use a pump to add the water back in over the course of an hour. I can't match the ph.

My worries are I lose cherry shrimps every now and then and my nitrates are a bit high 20-40 on the api test. Amanos seem to thrive and get berried.

This is a 200L heavily planted tank with 17 rummynose tetras, 5 honey gouramis, 8 otos, nerites and amano, cherry and crystal shrimps
Ph 6.5-7.3 (co2), kh 2, gh 4, temp 23C
I'm dosing 6ml of TNC complete daily and have tropica soil.

Attachments

• FDBCABAB-CD6A-493B-BD04-E8179AC10902.jpeg
    FDBCABAB-CD6A-493B-BD04-E8179AC10902.jpeg
    3.6 MB · Views: 391
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to high tech tanks and shrimp keeping. I'm basically scared to do large water changes and to use a high dosage of fertilisers.

How do you keep shrimps in a high tech tank?

For water changes:
EI method suggests 50% weekly
Shrimp keepers suggest 10% weekly eco
I tried doing 30% weekly but that still causes me to lose a shrimp the day after and I'm starting to get some algae.
I age the water for a day, I match temp kh and gh and use a pump to add the water back in over the course of an hour. I can't match the ph.