• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • You can now follow UKAPS on Instagram.

1TB External Hard Disk

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,252
Location
London
For those of you looking to purchased a large external drive for backups and stuff I would recommend this:

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/145041 (free postage too)

I have 4 of these and they are great, pretty fast, silent, and don't run so hot you can fry an egg on them.

They have just reduced the price too.
 

Dan Crawford

Founder
Staff member
Joined
21 Jun 2007
Messages
3,265
Location
Daventry, Northants
Before i go hunting, is there a 2,3 or 4TB hard disk all in one do you know? 1TB just isn't enough....
 

nry

Member
Joined
23 Oct 2007
Messages
1,227
Location
Cumbria, UK
If you up the budget, yes. We have a good handful of Buffalo TeraStations for backup storage at work, they are now in loads of variations up to 8TBytes I believe. Each has 4 HD's in and they can be RAID'd however you choose.
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Thread starter
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,252
Location
London

nry

Member
Joined
23 Oct 2007
Messages
1,227
Location
Cumbria, UK
Jeesh that is expensive considering no HD's with it...

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/129685

£429 for a 2TByte setup with the same features as the Drobo with a GBit network link built-in. Just as quick and each HD is swappable the same as the Drobo so no features lost there.
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Thread starter
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,252
Location
London
nry said:
Jeesh that is expensive considering no HD's with it...
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/129685
£429 for a 2TByte setup with the same features as the Drobo with a GBit network link built-in. Just as quick and each HD is swappable the same as the Drobo so no features lost there.

Ugly thing haha I already have the 4x1TB HDDs just need the enclusure ;) and that supports up to 16TB when disks become available in 4TB sizes ;)
 

Dan Crawford

Founder
Staff member
Joined
21 Jun 2007
Messages
3,265
Location
Daventry, Northants
Thanks for all that folks, i'll check them out when i get a chance.
Joecoral said:
Why on earth would you possibly need 16TB?!
I've got 640GB and I'm only just using 50% of it!
over 50% of my files are over 1GB so average hard drives don't last long before they're full :lol:
 

GreenNeedle

Member
Joined
19 Jul 2007
Messages
2,729
Location
Lincoln UK
My PC only has an 80Gb HD and there is 37Gb free :)

The external 250Gb is nearly full though. Full of avi/DivX and MP3 etc.

AC
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Thread starter
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,252
Location
London
gratts said:
What are people doing that takes up so much space? :wideyed:
I wouldn't even be able to fill my 120GB HD if I tried, let alone 4 TB :eek:
Well there are HD movies 720p takes 2-8GB and 1080p takes over 8Gb each movie :p
Then there is software, TV series, Games, Emulators+ROMS, MP3, Photos, etc.... lol

gratts said:
Slightly better one here though IMO!
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/164282
Yes if you want something to place inside the computer, but the toshibas have green HDDs inside which are really nice, run quiet, use less eletrecity and has a power switch at the back that you can easy turn it off when not in use.
 
Top