• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

2000L tank EI Dosing with drip water change

Filip Krupa

Hello Fine Underwater Gardeners,

I am an ambitious noob starting a 2000L high tech planted tank.
Here is my issue, (well one of them!) I am reading up on EI dosing, and planning to implement it, however I would like to avoid having to do a 50% weekly water change in one go! (1000L PITA)

Would it work, if I continuously dripped out a sizable portion of the water every day? 10%? 20%?

If so, would I have to adjust the EI dose? I.e. make it less or more than standard dose for a 2000L aquarium.

Any advice appreciated!

Filip

Probably would be best making a tailored dosing regime rather than doing straight EI? i wouldn't know where to start with 2000L myself though! sounds like an epic project, make sure to post it here please. :D :nailbiting::woot::clap:

Tailored? I feel way too stupid for that... but that's never stopped me before!

I am hoping to put a proper journal together at some point.
For now, I built the stand, sump and am in the process of buying cut acrylic for the DT.

20180320_162432.jpg 20180401_172133.jpg

Are you going to dose CO2? And if so how?

I suppose you have a faucet and drainage to the sewer in place?
My large tank has a sump wich has a compartiment which overflows into the sewer. I have a 90 lit/day RO unit hanging over it, i can choose to use the RO water or both the RO water and the waste water to be added to the tank. Once in a while i will flush the whole system with just regular water from the garden hose. I will run the wayer for a few hours doing a "big waterchange" the temperature will drop but the fish never mind.