• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

580l with sump - newbie reef conversion

andyseatrout

Hi All,

Thought I would share the beginning of the enjoyable part of converting my once reef aquarium into a planted aquarium. This is my first attempt at a planted aquarium and I am looking forward to the challenge ahead.

I would like to thank all those who have already assisted me with some of my thoughts about setting this up and I look forward to bouncing more ideas around and learning new things.

I have decided to use as much of my existing equipment as I can and I will be going Hi-Tech with EI dosing and CO2 injection. The tank is also sumped and this will incorporate the vast majority of the equipment. I have modified the sump to contain sections for sintered glass and bioballs (or the like) and this will be covered using 6mm acrylic; I have also had cover glass cut to size for the main tank to reduce evaporation and hopefully conserve the all important CO2!

Today I have finally reached a stage where I can start to put things back together, having spent the last month cleaning everything:

The cleaned tank:

dscf0090cx.jpg

Osmocote going down:

dscf0096u.jpg

Irish peat moss going down:

dscf0099u.jpg

dscf0102d.jpg

First layer of Tesco Value Lightweight cat litter going down:

dscf0107lc.jpg

Filter mulm from another planted tank going in:

dscf0111c.jpg

Final layer of cat litter in and done for this evening:

dscf0123r.jpg

dscf0126m.jpg

I am going to aquascape with bogwood only and still haven't made a final decision on plants. The only thing I am sure about is that I want to plant heavily from the outset with quite a variety.

Comments, suggestions and criticism all welcome. :)

Hi andyseatrout

This is a nice size tank for going planted and it looks like you've done a good job of cleaning the tank :D