A Stupid Plant/Substrate-Related Question

Discussion in 'Plant Help' started by Thomas McMillan, 16 Dec 2008.

  1. Thomas McMillan

    Thomas McMillan Member

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    1,127
    Okay, so this is probably a really really really really really really really really (you get the idea) stupid question.

    I'm going to set up a tank after Christmas with a substrate base of ADA AquaSoil, topped with a mix of graded gravel (i.e. 8mm grains down to 2mm) and sand. Thetank will be mostly Crypts.

    I was just thinking...will the new shoots be able to push through all of that substrate?
     
  2. GreenNeedle

    GreenNeedle Member

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    2,706
    Location:
    Lincoln UK
    You'll know the answer after a year if you try to remove them!!!! and I guess that statement tells you the answer.

    AC
     
  3. Thomas McMillan

    Thomas McMillan Member

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    1,127
    Haha, thanks Andy, I knew they would grow etc but I was just curious to know if they would definately be able to get through all of that substrate. I thought it was a pretty stupid question :lol:
     
  4. GreenNeedle

    GreenNeedle Member

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    2,706
    Location:
    Lincoln UK
    Roots are pretty powerful things!!! Just take a look in your garden!!! Even concrete and Tarmac can't stop tree roots! so think about in your tank where the substrate is already 'broken'

    AC
     
  5. Thomas McMillan

    Thomas McMillan Member

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    1,127
    True, true. Thanks for clearing this up.
     
  6. Ed Seeley

    Ed Seeley Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3,262
    Location:
    Nottingham
    There will be no problem with the plants growing through but why are you using Aquasoil underneath gravel? It's designed to use as the topping to powersaand or on its own. If you want a base layer with gravel over it why not get something like Tropica which is cheaper and designed to fill that roll?
     
  7. Thomas McMillan

    Thomas McMillan Member

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    1,127
    I'm putting gravel etc over it because it's gonna be a biotope and that's the substrate which will be most natural. I could go with Tropica, but I already have the AquaSoil lying around so there's no point in spending more money!
     
  8. Ed Seeley

    Ed Seeley Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3,262
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Fair enough! Just thought you might not realise but sounds like you've done your research. What Biotope is it you're doing?
     
  9. Thomas McMillan

    Thomas McMillan Member

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    1,127
    Sri Lanka ;)
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice