Adding extra light to my aquarium

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Jake :D, 3 Nov 2009.

  1. Jake :D

    Jake :D Newly Registered

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    22
    I have a Fluval Roma 125l it currently has 2 20w t8 bulbs on it.I have a few really easy plants already.I fancy adding a bit of extra light...without breaking the bank!Just an extra tube would be fine but im unsure as to how they would be fitted/attached under the hood(even though there is space).What would i have to do?? o_O
     
  2. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    why do you want to add more? i wouldnt go with more otherwise you will need to start injecting CO2.
    If you want to grow 'harder' plants then add CO2 and dose all the nutrients required and you will be able to grow any plant anyway.
     
  3. Jake :D

    Jake :D Newly Registered

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    22
    I always assumed i would need more.It only works out at 1.5 wpg i thought this was considered low...Everything seems to survive rather than flourish!I do fertilise and i am going to try liquid co2,does anyone else have an opinion id like to try some so called harder plants but im not really willing to spend the money to get pressurised co2,well atleast not just yet! :lol:
     
  4. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,953
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    Your assumption is not correct. As Aaron has just explained, hard plants have nothing to do with light. They are hard because they require more CO2 and nutrients than easy plants. If you add more light without paying attention to nutrients and CO2 you make them even harder. Learn about CO2 and nutrients first. Then learn about light.

    Cheers,
     
  5. Jake :D

    Jake :D Newly Registered

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks i will look into that :)
     
  6. AdAndrews

    AdAndrews Member

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Kidderminster, Worcs
    What i would do is swap the bulbs for T6's- you can get them from aqua essentials, they give much better kick than the t8's and i think its a much nicer light too.

    edit: thats if you are going to anything at all to the light that is.
     
  7. Jake :D

    Jake :D Newly Registered

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    22
    I think i will change to t6's although i would like to know the color temp of the plant gro ones,I won't use the daylight one since it 11,000K!Does anyone know what the plant gro bulbs are like?
     
  8. AdAndrews

    AdAndrews Member

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Kidderminster, Worcs
    i used daylight i think, they were awesome.
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice