• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Advice on Easy Plants

DarrenMT10

Finally finished Hardscape and added Tropica Aquarium soil.
What Plants would you recomend and where in tank? Im a complete beginner when it comes to plants but have had a fair few aquariums over the years. Its going to be a low tec tanks.
Regards
Darren
IMG_20200204_153919.jpg

Thanks guys looks like i got lots of research to do and planning yet.

As Darrel says I would stick to the Tropica 'Easy' plants - particularly those rated for low light and low CO2 - it'll make your life a lot easier, and you can also try more difficult plants once your aquarium is established, if you fancy it.

For higher stem plants, personally I can recommend taking a look at Bacopa caroliniana, or for a really nice easy red plant Ludwigia Palustris, or for somehint a little more unusual Hygrophila polysperma sunset which has also grown very easily for me.

For the midground Cardamine Lyrata is a lovely delicate plant that has grown very easily for me, Bacopa Compact is also one that grows easily and low in lower light, and Staurogyne repens is a nice low bushy plant also, that is fairly undemanding. Crypts are a good option also if they fit with the design style you are going for - just expect to remove most of the leaves as they will melt to start with - I recommend planting them with a decent root tab, as mine have done really well on that basis, and have come back really bushy within a few weeks after their melt. Personally I'd always go with decent sized potted Crypts - I've had zero success with in-vitro Crypts. You might also want to check out Schismatoglottis prietoi - I got this recently, and it is a beautiful little plant - like a cross between an anubias and a bucephalandra, but can be planted in the substrate.