• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Bee Shrimp Challenge

Scouseboyblue

I’ve been running a few tanks for a few years now Scaped and re-scaped Co2 in a couple of them and all have , after usual initial start up problems , been relatively successful. I’ve overcome pretty much every Algae issue possible and did so with a grin and feeling of satisfaction and superiority that only comes from standing over a vanquished enemy. My wife thinks I’ve lost plot !
So the last few years of keeping aquariums/ aquascapes have been a challenge and journey I have really enjoyed and the weekly maintenance of my tanks has now become my “ME TIME” where I get to switch off from everything else .
But now I want to have a go at running a Caridina/ Bee shrimp only tank .
So this is going to be my next challenge.
The problem I have is I would have to purchase RO water .
So I’m hoping to get some help here .

Set up

Superfish Scaper 90ltr
60x40x40
Co2
Oase biomaster 350

Will go for a Nature style with carpet of MC
Spider wood
Dragon Stone
Fern
Crypts
Stems
MC
Basically ripping off [mention]Iain Sutherland [/mention] Taiwan Bee Not So Nano .
Which still blows my mind

Questions :
Can I run the tank from start up with tap water until cycled . Then drain down and refill with RO water ?
Can I just use tap water but leave for 24hrs + for top ups / 20% water change

Any and all advice will be much appreciated
Cheers
Scouse

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

[mention]hypnogogia [/mention] water report googled
And attached
072f3e7f1fba20dd9d763c130601a7e0.jpg

9dc23c2e516c86fe91e6f3b7b46f2906.jpg

I’m not an expert with caridina, but have kept raccoon tigers in my relatively hard tap - just a suggestion that you might want to think about what kind of caridina is suited to what your water options are if you don’t want to go RO.