• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

BGA question

tennis4you

My 125 gallon tank has a decent amount of bga on a moderately planted tank. I have dosed excel for 3 days straight and did a little bit of spot treating but there is so much of it that it would take all day to spot treat. Would normally dosing bga with excel generally do some damage to the bga?

I recently got CO2 injected into the tank so I finally have that going for me now, but I am still battling the bga from when I was a low tech tank.

Just wondering how I should dose with excel in a tank this size and generally how long I should wait to see some progress...

Thanks!!!

Well, BGA is not a CO2 related algae. It is related to either low nitrates or ammonia production due to poor maintenance of filters and/or poor flow. BGA can occur just as easily in a high tech tank as a low tech one. Since BGA is a bacteria that can photosynthesize it loves CO2 just as much as your plants do so just adding CO2 won't make it go away. It's not really clear just exactly how much NO3 you are dosing or what level of filtration this tank has so, it's unclear if your previous low tech techniques have carried over. The best bet for ridding the tank of BGA, assuming that you have solved the root cause(s), is to do a blackout. I'll shamelessly plagiarize the procedure from JamesC's algae guide: