bulking substrate

Discussion in 'Substrates' started by soton_dave, 2 Aug 2013.

  1. soton_dave

    soton_dave Member

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Southampton
    Im in the process of planning a conversion from marine to planted.the area I've got to play with is 48"x30" id love to be able to go straight in with ada but because of the area i have to cover i think its gonna cost a fortune i want a mound or two in the scape so could i bulk under them with acadam and cover with a gravel tidy then cap with ada or is this asking for problems?

    If i was to use acadam capped with ada would it be worth soaking the acadam in ferts before using?

    Cheers Dave
     
  2. squid102

    squid102 Member

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Surrey
    I couldn't find particularly cheap akadama anywhere. It was £16 for a bag with delivery. I was much more impressed with the cheap Tescos cat litter so that might be another option. £3.16 for 10l.
     
  3. Samjpikey

    Samjpikey Member

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Devon
    That's exactly what I used , cheap tesco kitty litter capped it with Ada soil , my tank is 1mx30cm , used 1 bag of each .
    I did and I would recommend you to cover the kitty litter with a fine mesh else you run the risk of it making its way to the top over time I used this stuff
    q9xwdSr.jpg

    Hope this helps cheers
     
  4. squid102

    squid102 Member

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Surrey
    Yep. That's the one. I meant £3.19, not £3.16. Needs a bit of rinsing though.
     
  5. Samjpikey

    Samjpikey Member

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Devon
    I found it rinses ALOT quicker if done in small amounts at a time :)
    Hope this helps
    Cheers
     
  6. nduli

    nduli Member

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Bury
    Agreed it took 4hrs to clean 3 bags worth.......do it in smaller batches :)
    If you are trying to bulk up have you thought about throwing it into some tights then it will stay exactly where you want it?
     
  7. squid102

    squid102 Member

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Surrey
    Just a thought. If this is going to be used just to bulk out and would be capped by something else, would it need rinsing at all?
     
  8. soton_dave

    soton_dave Member

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Southampton
    thanks for the replies :D

    looks like i'll be using cat litter in tights topped off with ada,what sort of depth capping should i be aiming for?

    cheers dave
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice