• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • You can now follow UKAPS on Instagram.

calculating amount of needed substrate

ceg4048

Expert/Global Moderator
UKAPS Team
Joined
11 Jul 2007
Messages
9,183
Location
Chicago, USA
No it's not really worth it because that would just create more confusion. Aim for whatever substrate depth you want. It's your aquascape so do what you want. If 3 inches looks good to you use 3 inches. If 5 inches looks good then use 5 inches.

Cheers,
 

LancsRick

Member
Joined
18 Apr 2012
Messages
684
My understanding was that you need a certain amount in there to allow the substrate to buffer the water column if not dosing EI? Or have I just made that up?
 

ceg4048

Expert/Global Moderator
UKAPS Team
Joined
11 Jul 2007
Messages
9,183
Location
Chicago, USA
Sorry mate, yeah, I reckon you might have dreamed that up some time ago....or, it might have been original programming when you were still trapped in The Matrix. The only thing you should worry about is:
A) Does it look cool.
B) Is there enough depth to hold the plant when you stick it in so that everything doesn't float away.
C) Can I afford it.

Cheers,
 

LancsRick

Member
Joined
18 Apr 2012
Messages
684
You do like your Matrix references ;)

Cheers Clive. Definitely over-depthed my current tank then! I'm not sure any depth of cat litter will ever hold a plant though :p.

Thanks.
 

Viv

Member
Joined
19 Feb 2011
Messages
311
Location
Kent
How does a bow front affect the calculation? I've got a Vision 450 that I'm going to use eco-complete in. Should I measure using the widest point or the shortest? Thanks :)

Viv
 

roadmaster

Member
Joined
18 Oct 2009
Messages
1,447
Location
United States
I have alway's gone with 2 lbs. per gallon and this has worked well for me .with usually some left over.
 

sparkyweasel

Member
Joined
30 Jun 2011
Messages
1,810
If you have a strange shaped tank, but you know how many litres it holds, you can divide those litres by the height, and multiply the result by the depth of substrate you want to give how many litres of substrate you need.
 

ian_m

Global Moderator
UKAPS Team
Joined
25 Jan 2012
Messages
5,219
Location
Eastleigh
Basically all the calculation never works. When I did my vision 180 I ended up having a 12.5Kg bag of sand left over and had to order two more bags of Fluval substrate.
 

Viv

Member
Joined
19 Feb 2011
Messages
311
Location
Kent
Well, in the end I ordered as many bags of eco-complete as I can afford (6) and will go from there. Fingers crossed!

Viv
 

Andy Thurston

Member
Joined
16 Apr 2013
Messages
2,803
Use these calculators to find volume of odd shaped tanks

Substitute tank height for gravel depth will give you gravel volume

Use 1/4 of cylinder volume for bow front corner tanks

Bow front use the average size to calculate or just use biggest size it will be close enough

Aquarium calculators | Volume Calculator
 
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
D Substrate advice needed Substrates 1

Similar threads

Top