• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Can air pumps stress fish?

Phil Onion

Background

I'm a noob with a 4x2 75gl aquascape tank (I know). It has a canister filter with lily pipes. The lily pipe doesn't agitate the surface more than a slight ripple. The hardscape is wood either side and a sandy path in the middle. I plan for it to be heavily planted, although it's medium planted at present (growing slowly). LED lights on day/night cycle, but no CO2. How much (if any) of that is relevant, I don't know.

Being a noob, after a 2 month cycle, I wanted fish. First (cleanup crew)- 6x Otto, 6x Amano. Second (2 weeks later) - 10 x Cardinel, 10 x Rummynose, 6 x Harlequins. Third (2 weeks more) - 6 x Corys, 2 x Electric Blue Acara.

Now, I expected the Acara to swim near the bottom, with the nano's near the top. But the opposite happened with the Acaras at the top corner only moving for food while the nano's stayed near the bottom, again fairly still. Water parameters are checked regularly and good. I therefore started to worry about oxygen. A couple of nano's died over night and so, finally getting to the point, I decide to buy an air pump (Eheim 400) and partially bury it in the middle where the sandy path disappears in the distance.

Problem