• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Can I use Volvic bottled water in my tank?

iamzod

Ok, this might be a stupid question but i'm relatively new to fish keeping.

I have a 250L tank which is planted & the PH is creeping up over time, it's in the low 8 range now and my KH reading is coming out anywhere from 13 - 15dH.

I've looked at my water suppliers page & the water tests done on our supply for hardness & PH is coming out at -

• Hardness English - 18.77
  • Hardness French - 26.82
  • Hardness German - 15.02
  • PH - 7.78 to 7.96
  • Nitrate - 32.24 (it looks like a 50 to me)
  • Sodium - 22.4
  • Sulphates - 58
I want to soften it a bit & have some peat pellets on order, in the meantime however i've noticed Volvic has way lower hardness & PH than my tap, would it be safe to start cutting it with my water changes, say like 10 - 20% bottled to get dilute my hard water a bit?

Volvic is coming out as below -
  • Hardness English - 4.40
  • Hardness French - 6.28
  • Hardness German - 3.52
  • PH - 7.0
  • Nitrate - 7.3
  • Sodium - 12
  • Sulphates - 9
Any ideas, i'm reading mixed things?

I remember this story
In 1977, Amano made a breakthrough in the world of aquarium plant keeping: carbon dioxide injection. He experimented with carbonated water after noticing, while out drinking in a bar, bubbles in carbonated drinks.

When he added carbonated water to his tanks, he found that the bubbles appeared here too. What had Amano discovered? The reason that plants grew better in older tanks was that the set-ups were producing carbon dioxide, which the plants required for the photosynthesis process!

Aquarium planting would never be the same again; his breakthrough lead to the injection of carbon dioxide into planted tanks. Following his discovery, Takashi Amano spent the next 15 years refining his aquascaping.