• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • You can now follow UKAPS on Instagram.

Can shrimps damage plants?

_Maq_

I've got little experience with shrimps. Amano shrimps (Caridina) once destroyed my Bacopa myriophylloides. Does that happen regularly? Or could I prevent it with better feeding, or perhaps choosing another species?
And another question: Do the shrimps tolerate temperature falling to 16 to 17 °C during winter?

palcente

If they misbehave, just throw them some frozen green peas or some nettles - they love nettles. They should stop nibbling on the plants. Amano will eat healthy plants if they are hungry and especially when berried, but it won't be their first choice. W/R to temps, I kept them without heater as low as 19 and as high as 29 in the summer, they bred in both temperatures, but grow way slower in lower temps.

Shrimp

Last edited:

Wookii

Will this be for one of your low TDS tanks, or are you raising GH to suit the shrimp?

Shrimp generally need around 5GH to ensuring there is sufficient calcium in the water column for carapace generation and moulting. Low TDS water rules out most shrimp - the only ones I've heard do well in low TDS water are Tangerine Tigers which are a wild type Caradina. Other Caridina (including Amanos) and Neocaridina likely won't do too well with low water column calcium levels.

In terms of temperature, Caridina tend to like it warmer - around 20 degrees and above so might not do too well with the temperature drop you're proposing. Neocaridina however should be fine in the temperatures you mention.

Also bear in mind that Amanos won't produce offspring in fresh water, where as most other shrimp types do. I prefer to keep shrimp that can sustain their own population, and don't see Amanos as a good value proposition.