clouding substrates

Nick16

Member
Joined
13 Aug 2008
Messages
1,761
Location
Surrey, UK
hi, does this happen to all substrates? when i touch mine (aquabasis and akadama) it clouds so much its annoying. does this happen with other stuff like eco complete, the red sea stuff or ADA stuff? can i have your guys personal experiances on this matter.

cheers
 

Superman

Member
Joined
29 Jan 2008
Messages
1,804
Location
Cheltenham
In both ADA Aquasoil Amazonia and Tropica Planted Substrate capped by gravel meant that I'd get clouding if I messed with the substrate.
It's never been too bad but could be easily resolved in an hour or so with filter floss or a few water changes.
 

Nick16

Member
Joined
13 Aug 2008
Messages
1,761
Location
Surrey, UK
yeah, its just a pain. i was wondering if its like that with all substrates or just 'clay' based ones. (i know alot are clay based)
 

TDI-line

Member
Joined
11 Nov 2007
Messages
1,535
Location
Yaxley, Peterborough
Yep, when i resscape my 720 litre with ADA aquasoil, once i've pulled out all the plants, i have to leave the tank for 24 hours to get some visibility back. :lol:
 

Nick16

Member
Joined
13 Aug 2008
Messages
1,761
Location
Surrey, UK
ahh, right, looks like i will have to put up and shut up :lol: . (im a perfectionist you see :D )

im going to set my 120L up as a breeding tank but i cant decide what to breed. im going to try corries but wondering if there is anything else. i was thinking so CRS or something. (if these breed) :lol:
 

Mark Evans

Expert
Joined
13 Jun 2008
Messages
6,486
Location
newark notts.
for me it's a case of getting everything positioned right, then fill slowly (the newspaper way) and bingo leave it for a few months.

i'm using aquabsis at the shop and it's crystal from day 2, but it will be if you leave it alone ;)
 

Nick16

Member
Joined
13 Aug 2008
Messages
1,761
Location
Surrey, UK
yeah, but i fiddle which is annoying. :twisted: but anyway guys cheers for the help, i know its not just the jbl and akadama. :D
 

dsandson

Member
Joined
25 Jun 2008
Messages
98
Location
Belfast, NI
Nick16 said:
yeah, but i fiddle which is annoying.
:wideyed:

lol, anyway, I have JBL in one tank and akadama only in the other. The JBL does cloud up with a red colour in the water for about an hour after ripping a plant up. The akadama only clouds up with a little mulm, which soon clears too, so tis probably just the aquabasis.
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
10,583
Location
London
I had that problem with ADA Amazonia II, except that the cloudiness stayed for 5 months non stop LOL

Until I replaced it with Oli's Naturesoil and no more problems, I can fo whatever I want with the substrate and water always clear, and in my main tank its even better only gravel lol no such problems ;)
 
Top