CO2 Tubing

Discussion in 'Carbon Dioxide (CO2)' started by lincsflier, 30 Jul 2009.

  1. lincsflier

    lincsflier Member

    Joined:
    8 May 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Hi all is CO2 tubing all the same or can you use silicone airline?.

    Thanks
    Dave
     
  2. Simon D

    Simon D Member

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Leicestershire
  3. lincsflier

    lincsflier Member

    Joined:
    8 May 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Cheers Simon tried the searche ngine route first but came up with half saying silicone is fine other half saying no :? .

    Cheers
    Dave
     
  4. Themuleous

    Themuleous Member

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,126
    Location:
    Aston, Oxfordshire
    FYI - do some research if you decide/discover that it has to be tubing marked 'CO2' there are several places that sell tubing that is very stiff (completely the opposite of normal airline tubing which is very flexible) and can make putting it on and off tricky. Personally the softer the better as it helps with taking the diffuse off for cleaning :) JBL CO2 tubing that I've seen looks perfect but is expensive.

    HTH

    Sam
     
  5. Sye Davies

    Sye Davies Member

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    47
    TMC have now released their plant range and while the majority of it is perhaps not the best they are doing 2m packs of clear silicone tubing which seems supple enough.

    i can get prices tommorow :)
     
  6. JamesC

    JamesC Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Bexley, Kent
    It depends on the pressure in the tubing to how much CO2 is lost. If all you are doing is bubbling CO2 into a ladder style diffuser or external reactor then the pressure in the tubing will be very low and therefore CO2 loss will be virtually zero. But with a ceramic disc style diffuser then the pressure is higher and you run the risk of losing some of the CO2 if you are using silicone air tubing.

    If you have tubing going from the regulator to the solenoid and/or needle valve then you should be using good quality CO2 tubing as there is pressure here.

    If in doubt just use some CO2 tubing. Some kinds are stiffer than others but I find placing one end in hot water softens it enough to use. If you use glassware and are scared of breaking it trying to remove the tubing then just purchase those airline connectors and put a connection in before the glassware. It's just a simple matter of disconnecting there when needed.

    James
     
  7. lincsflier

    lincsflier Member

    Joined:
    8 May 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Hi all thanks for the info will be using an Aquamas external reactor from Germany so probably not much pressure but have found a local company who can supply the tubing at 27p per metre :woot: .
     
  8. Sye Davies

    Sye Davies Member

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    47
    now that is a bargain :clap:
     
  9. lincsflier

    lincsflier Member

    Joined:
    8 May 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Not sure if I can post the details on here or not?.
     
  10. Simon D

    Simon D Member

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Of course you can post details on here. That's what UKAPS is all about.

    Spread the love...

    To coin a phrase: UKAPS BABY!!!

    (Unless your source wants to remain anonymous of course :( )
     
  11. lincsflier

    lincsflier Member

    Joined:
    8 May 2009
    Messages:
    56

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice