CPD Fry

JM155

Hi all

I have been keeping CPDs in my 57l Dennerle Scaper’s tank for a few months now. Out of the blue, I found a couple of fry in the tank. I had a spare 30l nano cube in the garage so set that up quickly. I was able to find one of the fry and move him into the nano cube.

It was absolutely tiny, around the size of an eyelash. I have never raised fry before but would love to keep him/her alive and be able to look after any others going forward.

Does anyone have any advice on looking after CPD fry? Mainly thinking food wise? I am pretty sure the CPDs caused my Red Cherry Shrimp population to fall in a big way, so don’t trust them with anything that is small and moves!

Thanks in advance.

Simon Cole

Infusoria, paramecium, nematodes (walter worms, vinegar worms, micro worms etc.) and cyclops.
I have an amazing diversity of small organisms that colonise my new tanks, including detritus worms, ostracods, tubifex worms, and cyclops - so basically I always have a tank free to offer to fry. If you can set up a few tubs with plants in them on your window sill, then you'll probably get some nice natural cultures too. I add pollen into my tanks to encourage healthy quantities of these organisms.

Majsa

I had a small breeding project this winter. I have these 7 swimming in their parents' tank now, they are doing well. Food wise, they need to be fed a lot when they are tiny, maybe up to 6-7 feedings per day depending on what they get and how established the tank is. The first two weeks are the hardest, I lost ±50% of the fry on the second week most likely due to not feeding them enough :oops: They took:
Infusoria (but I started the culture when the eggs were laid so late) and some JBL NobilFluid from free swimming
Vinegar eels after ±4 days
Microworms after ±10 days
BBS, powdered dry food etc. after ±2 weeks