• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

CRS help

tsze001

Seedling
Hi all, I'm new to shrimp keeping and is having problem keeping crs alive, at the moment the tank has a slight hazy white/green water and several crs has died.

Tank: 38cm(W)*23cm(D)*27cm(H) roughly 20Litres
Substrate: ADS amazonia power.
Plant: HC Cuba carpeted whole tank, growing well and some are pearling.
CO2: pressurised CO2 at 6 bubbles per minute, shuts off when lights off.
Filtration: AC50 Hang on back with Sponge intake, ceramic ring, PolyFilter, and filter floss
Water change: 10% a week
Temperature: 22degC to 23degC
Lighting: 4x 3Watt 10000K LED, 8 hours per day.
Water Parameter: 0ppm Ammonia; 0ppm Nitrite; 20-30ppm Nitrate; 6-6.5pH; 1KH; 5GH
Added supplements: Half a Almond Leave; 2 Shirakura Mineral Rock; I use RO water and remineralised with Salty Shrimp GH+; also sprinkle some GenChem Beta-G immune booster.
Inhabitants: 2 Chilli Rasboras; 8 Crystal Red Shrimps --> 5 died one by one

The tank has been running with only plants for 2 months, I'm pretty sure its fully cycled since ammonia and nitrite are both zero. Added fish and shrimp, then water starts to get a little hazy white, I thought its a bacteria bloom but the filter floss is light green. Recently, even the water has definitely turned a hazy light green colour, so I believe it is algae bloom instead, I did a 30% water change and now its back to a hazy white. All the time I've checked the water parameters and ammonia and nitrite are always zero. Nitrate is always about 20 to 30ppm, I can't lower it even with 30% water change. At the moment I'm waiting for some Water Lettuce to arrive to try and combat the Nitrate and the green water.