• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Cryptocoryne affinis - Brown

Marcus_F

Hi all,

i have two Cryptocoryne affinis which melted on arrival but now growing well after 6 weeks but the leaves as they grow turn brown. They seem healthy, growing larger. New leaves are green to begin with. Is it just a lovely variety I have or is there an issue?

EF46F7D3-6837-4F69-AD75-C96F9C5EA767.jpeg

Looks like a very nice variety to me. Where did you get that from I haven’t seen it before.

Last edited:
Hi, it doesn't look like Affinis to me , more like Albida brown.
My Affinis have much longer stems but can have variations in colour.
I'm not an expert but have had the Affinis 40+ years. The Albida brown vary between greenish to rusty and have mottling. Not great photos :( the Albida needs a trim.
Did you get your plants from another hobbyist?
Cheers
John

sketch-1616256543724.png
sketch-1616256399060.png

A
Hi all,

i have two Cryptocoryne affinis which melted on arrival but now growing well after 6 weeks but the leaves as they grow turn brown. They seem healthy, growing larger. New leaves are green to begin with. Is it just a lovely variety I have or is there an issue?

View attachment 165196
All new/fresh leaves will be lighter in colouration!
Crypt Albida is the most slow growing crypt I've ever encountered even flamingo grows quicker!
That plants looks like Crypt affinis metallic.
hoggie

I got it from aqua essentials and was labelled as Cryptocoryne affinis and I’m not knowledgable enough to question them.

A

All new/fresh leaves will be lighter in colouration!
Crypt Albida is the most slow growing crypt I've ever encountered even flamingo grows quicker!
That plants looks like Crypt affinis metallic.
hoggie