• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Decided to research planted tanks

Colley614

Hello Everyone,

I've been keeping both freshwater and saltwater fish for nearly 30 years and I've been keeping plants on and off for throughout that time. I've never really done my homework with regards to plants and decided its something I need to learn more about.

When I say I've kept plants they have tended to be something simple I can drop in and let them do their own thing. I tend to keep Elodea Densa as it is one plant I seem to be able to keep with goldfish and it survives. I once set up a planted goldfish tank with Elodea Densa, Java Fern, Amazon swords and Anubias and everything seemed to do well. My definition of well is 12 months plus.

I moved into my current house about 4 years ago and I have been running into problems ever since with Cyanobacteria. I have never struggled with this in all my years until I moved into my current property. I have an SPS dominant reef tank that I grew corals from the size of finger nails to the size of a hand. But then I moved and the Cyano started and I was literally scrubbing rocks and substrate constantly so I dosed the tank with a Cyano remove and it went. However, it slowly began again until I eventually gave in and sold all my coral and fish.