do you aged your water?

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by jarthel, 10 Jan 2010.

  1. jarthel

    jarthel Member

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    212
    it seems some people age their water but then still using prime. if you're going to add prime, why not just put the water straight into the tank?

    thank you
     
  2. Ed Seeley

    Ed Seeley Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3,262
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Leaving water for a while may help to dissipate chlorine but it won't do much for chloramine. If you have this in your water supply you may well want to use a dechlorinator to ensure it is removed and the chlorine and ammonia is locked up so it cannot harm your fish.
     
  3. jarthel

    jarthel Member

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    212
    thank you.

    just a question again. I suppose that during water changes, the water goes directly into the tank? do I add prime before or prime after putting in water?

    thanks again :)
     
  4. zig

    zig Member

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Add the appropriate amount of prime (usually doseing for the whole tank volume not just the changed volume) to the existing water then add the freshwater to the tank. This is how I would do it if doing a 50% water change.
     
  5. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,316
    Location:
    London
    I just add water straight out of the tap, so far I haven't noticed problems to fish/shrimp or plants. Have been doing this without adding anything else for the last 5 years. But it is recommended that you use prime.
     
  6. Iliveinazoo

    Iliveinazoo Member

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Southampton
    For my tank I mix the dechlorinater in a 10 litre bucket before adding to the tank I use the required amount for the water I'm changing.
    For my pond I add it to the water first and then top up with a hose.
     
  7. jarthel

    jarthel Member

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    212
    why the whole tank volume? when the water already in there has already been treated?

    thanks again
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice