Dosing Excel + auto doser

JoshP12

Member
Joined
8 Dec 2019
Messages
406
Location
Canada
Hi everyone,

Has anyone set up a bottle of excel into your auto doser?

If so, did you just drill a hole in the cap or leave the cap off?

I am just wondering if the fumes released will be an issue.

Josh
 

Nikola

Member
Joined
9 May 2020
Messages
75
Location
Slovakia
Hi,
I'm using it and have drilled the cup. Added one pinhole for air to come in and that's it.
No problems so far.

Sent from my STK-L21 using Tapatalk
 

JoshP12

Member
Joined
8 Dec 2019
Messages
406
Location
Canada
Hi,
I'm using it and have drilled the cup. Added one pinhole for air to come in and that's it.
No problems so far.

Sent from my STK-L21 using Tapatalk
Thanks Nikola (I feel this is the case; but, have to be safe) - I have reached out to seachem and will advise this post with their response.

Josh
 

ian_m

Global Moderator
Staff member
Joined
25 Jan 2012
Messages
5,165
Location
Eastleigh
This is mine. Dosing Excel from a smaller old EasyCarbo bottle. Dosed using a 1.8ml/min peristaltic pump controlled from my controller.

Before using my plc controller I had a couple of issues with timer jamming on and emptying the container out, killing fish and plants. So after that never filled the liquid carbon container much in case of timer failure. Not an issue now as plc switching is 100% reliable.
IMG_20200611_163529_6.jpg
 

JoshP12

Member
Joined
8 Dec 2019
Messages
406
Location
Canada
Hi @Nikola,

Seachem said that poking a hole would cause very minimal gas escape and should be fine. :)

and @ian_m,

I have the Jebao Doser -- is that a PLC? Thanks for the photo ps.

Also, do you dose a "single" dose daily of that liquid carb OR double daily?

Josh
 
Top