• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Dry Start Method

Steven Southgate

Seedling
I am very new to aquatics. I have recently started a small 80ltr tank and wanted to try the "Dry Start" method. I began by placing some Fluval Stratum Plant and Shrimp Substrate into my tank. I added some rocks and purchased some Dwarf Baby Tears seeds on line and scattered them across the substrate. I covered in cling film and sprayed twice per day. I was pleased with the beginning growth but it was slow so I purchased a DIY Co2 system (CA/BS) and added this through a diffuser. I left some gaps around the substrate and planted some Dwarf Hair Grass. I spray each day with water mixed with Seachem Flourish Excel. In another tank I added some water and placed my Fluval C3 hang on filter start up fluid and dropped a dead prawn into the tank (I read this on line) to build up ammonia to cycle. As soon as this is cycled I will transfer the filter the the main tank and add water to the dry start plants. I am worried the beautiful growth will melt away as soon as I add water. Is there any tips anybody can share before I add my water?

20180414_085514.jpg
20180428_092353.jpg
20180428_092345.jpg

Hi Steven and welcome

There is no need to add CO2 during a DSM as atmosphic air has CO2 in abundance, just removing the cling film twice a day is enough.