Eco complete info.

Maximumbob

Member
Joined
8 Jul 2007
Messages
119
Location
Cheshire, UK
Hey guys.. i'm looking to kit out my RIO 180 with a new substrate. Currently it is an inert black gravel (looks like rolled crushed glas tbh)

I'm quite keen on ECO Comlete as its a black substrate and wont mess with the water chemistry. I would be introducing fish to it immediately in a kinda substrate switc operation. I was also toying with the idea of adding some tropica substrate beneath it to add some extra nutrition as I plan to plant quite a lot of crypts.

Has anyone got any advice on this aspect of things and can anyone recommend a well priced UK delivery place.
 

Themuleous

Member
Joined
6 Jul 2007
Messages
4,124
Location
Aston, Oxfordshire
EC is an excellent substrate IMHO, although it does mess with the water chemistry a bit, in that it will raise the Gh and Kh a bit, to 8 and 6 respectively in my soft water tank.. Nothing to major but just so you are aware :)

Re getting it, AE is probably your best bet and you'll no doubt be getting a few bags so delivery will be free (i.e. order over £50).

As for the tropica substare, I wouldn't personally, as the EC will be more than adequate. You could always add some root tabs if need be, but the tropica substrate will mix with the EC eventually which'll ruin the look.

Sam
 

James Flexton

Member
Joined
21 Aug 2007
Messages
358
Location
Stotfold, Herts/Beds
if you look closley £6 for one bag and £2 extra for each additional bag.

cost me £123.88 total for 6 bags including postage. i ordered last friday, no sign of it yet i'll let you know when it turns up. provided they haven't done a runner or sell substandard stock it looks like a good deal.
 

Themuleous

Member
Joined
6 Jul 2007
Messages
4,124
Location
Aston, Oxfordshire
Doing some very rough calculations, yeh about 3 bags for a rio 180. Although you could get 4 just to be on the safe side, but thats just me :)

Sam
 

Ivan

Member
Joined
15 Oct 2007
Messages
32
Location
Meltham
Hi, I have the eco complete stuff. Root growth is amazing compared to using silic sand and laterite base layer. Also it didn't do anything to my water chemistry.
pH7, gh 7 and kh 4.
 

rjtaylor

New Member
Joined
2 Aug 2007
Messages
13
Location
Eltham, London
I have 100lbs for sale if you are anywhere near London SE9? Used in my tank for 2 years.

Incidently, I used 100lbs in a 180l tank. 3" depth is ideal for this substrate.
 

Maximumbob

Member
Joined
8 Jul 2007
Messages
119
Location
Cheshire, UK
I managed to get some from the same ebayer as mentioned above... it arrived promptly and well packaged. I opted for 4 bags. I just have to organise some time to do the substrate switch! ANd I also need to buy a water but to keep the fish in during the change!
 

James Flexton

Member
Joined
21 Aug 2007
Messages
358
Location
Stotfold, Herts/Beds
glad the link was usefull. just a tip though if you are removing fish then is possible totally empty the tank of water before adding ecocomplete, it does not need washing as it is prepacked in blackwater. this does not mean it's nice and clean. i added it straight to a full tank and it took about a week to clear with dust all over everything in the tank. also the layers will settle better if in a dry tank.

good luck.
 

Maximumbob

Member
Joined
8 Jul 2007
Messages
119
Location
Cheshire, UK
my plan was to fully empty the tank of the fish water plants and old substrate. The put in the eco complete with new bogwood and replanting followed by the fish.
 

johnny70

Member
Joined
1 Dec 2007
Messages
636
Location
Bakewell, Derbsyhire
Has anyone got corys in a tank using this? I'm thinking of using this when I replace my substrate, but I have a lot of corys that it must be ok for.

Thanks
JOHNNY
 

Superman

Member
Joined
29 Jan 2008
Messages
1,804
Location
Cheltenham
I understand that the Eco Complete substrate doesn't require anything on top of it like gravel?

Could someone point me in the direction of some photos of this substrate so I can see what it looks like once settled.
 
Top