• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Energy Saving Lightbulbs

dkm

Hi,

Firstly I would like to say hello to everyone on the forum. This is my first post.

I am about to set up my first freshwater aquarium. My background is 5 years of reef keeping. I am now setting up a planted discus aquarium.

I have been deliberating over how to light my new aquarium (a Wave station 120x50x50). I have obtained some Silver bresslein MV pendants and think they look fantastic. Right I was going to just run two with each set at 80w but after looking at the units they have standard ceramic 27mm Eddison Screw fittings and was contemplating loosing the external ballasts and putting some Daylight (6500K) Energy saving mini spiral bulbs in them! You can get these bulbs in 11w, 15w, and 18w which equates to 60w, 75w and 100w respectively. According to manufacturers info.

I have tested one in the bresslein pendant and works well. Nice white light as well.

Now has anyone tried this or does anyone see any reason why it cannot be done? Would it restrict what plants I can have?

The reason I am thinking of doing this is:

big electricity saving
cheaper bulbs
lower heat emission from the bulbs
higher kelvin rating than MV bulbs

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Dave

Hi,
Welcome to the forum. :D These all sound like pretty good reasons to me! I can see any reason why it shouldn't work. :thumbup:

Cheers,

Thats a great idea, i had some MVs and whilst they worked very well and certainly grew my plants, i would have preferred a whiter light. Shame i got rid of them now :rolleyes:

I've not really heard of how people get on with energy saving bulbs. Isn't there an issue with them not giving off enough light? I.e. they are energy saving for a reason?

Just a thought, dont want to rain on your parade :)

Sam