FE and Regulator problem

Discussion in 'Carbon Dioxide (CO2)' started by aaronnorth, 8 Jul 2008.

  1. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    i thoiught i would set up my FE today properly, i took it outside to change the pressure, i can get it down to 2 bar with the knob, when i aim for 1.5 bar then the knob has 2 small holes opposite each other and the gas comes out, should it do this? I am thinking no :(

    I havent got the plug convertor for the solenoid either, does this need to be switched on while i do this or off?

    It is the reg from aquatic magic with the job lot built on.

    thanks, i hope it isnt broke :(
     
  2. JamesM

    JamesM Member

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    1,913
    Location:
    The BIG End, South Wales
    Sorry if this is a silly question, but why would you need to adjust the pressure of the FE?

    Pick up some plug convertors from Argos - something silly like 2 for £2.50. Or you could just cut the 2 pin plug off and wire up a 3 pin. Warranty goes out of the window then though...
     
  3. Matt Holbrook-Bull

    Matt Holbrook-Bull Founder

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I take its the operating pressure that your trying to adjust Aaron?

    I agree with James.. why are you trying to? theyre normaly preset.
     
  4. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    there is the pressure inside the FE (50bar) and then the pressure at which the gas is comin out at (2 bar at the mo) or it might be PSI.

    dont want the pressure to high otherwise it will probobaly explode somewhere down the line.

    viewtopic.php?f=34&t=266

    as you can see in Sam's guide, he adjusts it further down
     
  5. Matt Holbrook-Bull

    Matt Holbrook-Bull Founder

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    the main cylinder pressure will always be about 50-60 bar.. thats full.. once it starts to drop, itll do so very quickly.

    the 2nd pressure is the operating pressure, which should be pre-set to between 1.5bar and 2bar depending on the regulator make.
     
  6. JamesM

    JamesM Member

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    1,913
    Location:
    The BIG End, South Wales
    I don't think you need to worry about anything exploding.

    Messing around with it is asking for trouble imo.
     
  7. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    so is 2bar for the Operating pressure ok then? it is actually 2.2bar if that makes a difference?

    Should it leak though if i want it at 1.5bar?
     
  8. JamesM

    JamesM Member

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    1,913
    Location:
    The BIG End, South Wales
    I'm not sure what you've changed on the regulator... Mine are at 2.2 bar also, so I would think this is fine.
     
  9. Matt Holbrook-Bull

    Matt Holbrook-Bull Founder

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    thats fine... theyre pre-set to be the optimum for that regulator.. changing it is a very bad idea. The whole purpose of the regulator is to maintain the operating pressure, regardless of the main primary (cylinder) pressure. Then its down to you to thumb-wheel in the output you want.

    The only thing you should be altering is the thumb-wheel.
     
  10. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    how come there isnt anything coming out the end of the solenoid?

    Whats the thumbwheel? The needle valve?
     
  11. Matt Holbrook-Bull

    Matt Holbrook-Bull Founder

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    have you got a main pressure in the cylinder still? 50-60bar?

    if both gauges are showing pressure, and nothings coming out of the solenoid, then Id say the solenoid wasnt switched on (has it clicked loudely when turned on?) or faulty.

    yes by thumbwheel i mean needle valve :) most have a wheel on the end of them.
     
  12. JamesM

    JamesM Member

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    1,913
    Location:
    The BIG End, South Wales
    The solenoid needs to be on.
     
  13. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    thanks for all your help guys, i thought the solenoid had to be off :oops:

    i just need to get an adapter for the solenoid ( i bought the wrong one :rolleyes: ) i dont want to cut the wire because of the warranty, i dont know if it has any actually
     
  14. Matt Holbrook-Bull

    Matt Holbrook-Bull Founder

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    dont worry Aaron :) we all do that one to start with!!! Its designed to be off when powered down as a fail safe. So in the event of a power outage, you dont gas your fish!

    Problem solved :)
     
  15. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    I'm happy again now :D
     
  16. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    Set it up today, all working perfect :D

    1 bubble every 2 seconds for 60l tank.
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice