• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Fert dosing soft water?

Bert2oo1

Hey guys I've recently set up a 220l planted tank. I'm fairly new to planted tanks (had them for about a year now) and I'm trying to figure out my fert dosing for this tank.

I have 30-35ppm of co2 delivered through a cerges reactor.

Medium plant mass

Substrate- Eco complete

TDS from tap is 40ppm

So I started out dosing full EI,
2.2g kno3
0.5g kh2po4
11.15g mgso4
4 times a week

0.6g micro's
3 times per week.

After dosing for 2 weeks my plants began to yellow/bleach, my AR mini started curling all its leafs, hygrophila had red patches, dark green veins,bleaching and curling. Even my crypts had deformed growth.

I put this down to one thing. Possible toxicity. I feel I had all other bases covered to rule out deficiency.

I did 2 large water changes followed by my weekly 50%.

For the next week I have dosed full EI macros the same as listed above and I dropped the micro's to 0.2g 3 times per week. I supplemented the iron with seachem iron to get it to 0.6ppm over a week (0.2ppm per dose).

After 3 days the plants looked a lot better and growth rate became rapid. By the end of the week growth stopped dead and the leafs began to stunt and curl.

This week I'm not dosing any micro's at all and only adding iron (0.6ppm over the week)

Is there something that I'm missing? Should I do away with the micro mix and go to seachem trace or something similar?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Cheers

Few pics:
http://pho.to/AcAow

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
What is your lighting level and timing ?

What is your tap water KH/GH, as you seem worried by it ?

The symptoms of lack of calcium can appear to be similar to lack of iron and/or magnesium.

If your tap water is well and truly soft then try adding a bit of remineralising to your tap water.