First real attempt (tropica aquacube)

Discussion in 'Journals' started by fish fodder, 30 Jun 2008.

  1. fish fodder

    fish fodder Member

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Harrogate
    hi guys,

    be gentle with me, just set this up 2 days ago so it needs growing out, looks a little stark. please tell me how i could improve. many thanks

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,311
    Location:
    London
    Looking good, but did you attach your HC to the bogwood? you should really break it up and plant it on the substrate ;)
     
  3. Garuf

    Garuf Member

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,959
    Location:
    Leeds.
    Same advice really, looks great.
    Just leave it to grow out! :)
     
  4. fish fodder

    fish fodder Member

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Harrogate
    No, it came on the rock, from AE, i was thinking that any pieces that come away from the rock i could re plant in the substrate. i did want the HC on its own but they were out of stock at the time of ordering.
     
  5. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,311
    Location:
    London
    Not too sure if it will do well on the rock, but I will let someone with more experience with HC to let you know. But I think it would do much better on a fertile substrate.
     
  6. fish fodder

    fish fodder Member

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Harrogate
    yeah its a bit of hit and miss i didnt think it would do so well but took a chance, time will tell. i'll keep you posted on its progress or lack of. its from tropica so maybe it will be ok lol
     
  7. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,311
    Location:
    London
    The only thing I can do with HC is kill it, must be my water which is not good for it or the gravel doesn't help. Good luck ;)
     
  8. Dan Crawford

    Dan Crawford Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    3,268
    Location:
    Daventry, Northants
    It looks really nice, especially for a first attempt!

    With regards to the HC, i've kept HC in the substrate whilst having a couple of pots full just sitting in the tank, the stuff on the substrate went great where as the stuff in the pots just got really leggy and unhealthy. Maybe you'll find the same due to the lack of nutrients being absorbed by the roots. Heavy water column dosing will certainly help and it's in a good position within the tank enabling maximum up take so you could be ok.
     
  9. john starkey

    john starkey Member

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,593
    Location:
    worcester
    HI,just be patient and let it fill out and i am sure it will be really nice,good first attempt,regards john.
     
  10. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    i think if the plants were spread out more then it would fill up quicker, it will look good though.
     
  11. fish fodder

    fish fodder Member

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Harrogate
    thanks for the tips guys
     
  12. jay

    jay Member

    Joined:
    22 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    Harrow, Middlesex
    HC doesn't look too healthy.
    Reckon you'll be buying a pot of it soon and with that creeping up the "mountain" with the pogostemon sprouting out
    its going to be a real gem.

    great hardscape :D

    whats the grass in the back, parvula?
     
  13. fish fodder

    fish fodder Member

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Harrogate
    yeah, some of the leaves are starting to go yellow however some are coming on quite nicely. like i said previously its a bit of an experiment with it on the rock.
     
  14. jay

    jay Member

    Joined:
    22 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    Harrow, Middlesex
    If you're getting new growth then it should be fine. Maybe snip off some runners and plant them up in the soil?
     
  15. TDI-line

    TDI-line Member

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    1,535
    Location:
    Yaxley, Peterborough
    Nice scape.
     
  16. fish fodder

    fish fodder Member

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Harrogate
    i have some that are naturally coming away from the main clump so there going to be planted in the soil. everytime i look at it i feel it would be better to plant the HC separate in the soil, the only thing that is stopping me is that it cost me over a tenner for a little bit of rock lol
     
  17. jay

    jay Member

    Joined:
    22 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    Harrow, Middlesex
    OUCH!! Could always take it off the rock, plant it then put the rock in a nice glass box and put it on a shelf for everyone to see. You could even keep a little inscription on the glass box.... not going to repeat what I'd put on it :)

    If it does start to pick up and trail off the rock and down across the soil then it could end up being a nice little feature, like a hill before the mountain?
     
  18. Dacious

    Dacious Member

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    86
    The cube layout it looking good!
    Is that a hang-on-the-back filter you have? If so will it not drive off CO2 (unless you are going to put fish in it of course)? Also, how much has it cost to set up?

    Keep us posted on the progress.
     
  19. fish fodder

    fish fodder Member

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Harrogate
    errrr too much. well the cube itself i got when is first came out at a cost of £150, then the HOB which was only about £10 i think then everything you see in the tank now came to £50. i dont intend to put fish in it, way too small.
     
  20. Dacious

    Dacious Member

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Wow that's more than I was expecting.....there goes that idea. Just wondered if you are not intending to put fish in would it not be better to remove the HOB filter as I thought it would drive off the CO2? But then I guess you need it to prevent dead areas. Sorry I'm not criticising just wondered as I have been told to avoid HOB filters.
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice