• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Fluval 3.0 - Trying to achieve "low light" on a tall tank

ShropshireLad

Hi All

I am currently in the process of trying to rescue a neglected planted tank, which was set up around a year ago. I was a complete noob at the time and it failed despite being heavily planted - almost certainly due to lack of maintenance and fertilisation (and possibly incorrect lighting). The tank became extremely overgrown with BBA and BGA and I kind of gave up on it. Now I'm trying to rescue it and I'm unsure whether I'm actually delivering correct lighting to the tank or not.

Tank: 250L. Ea Freshwater 900. 900mm L, 500mm W, 700mm H. (Why did I buy a tank so tall?!)

Substrate: Tropica soil powder.

Filtration/Flow: Oase Biomaster 600. 1250lph. Spray bar used at one end running across the length of the tank just under water surface. Decent amount of surface agitation. Inlet at the same end as the spray bar. Flow at one end of the tank is good but not great underneath the spray bar. I think i need to add a powerhead to make it more difficult for the BGA to mob up on the substrate.

Light: Fluval Plant 3.0 46w. Running at 50% with blue turned down very low. 6 hour photo period with 30min ramp up/down. The room is bright as it has a lot of windows and is painted white but the tank doesn't revieve direct sunlight.

Plants: Currently low mass. Only survivors were 1 large amazon sword which is doing fine, and about 12-15 struggling crypts and anubias covered in BBA/BGA. And a couple of siamensis 53b which were doing terribly and also covered in algae but the tips were OK so I have replanted those and pulled out the rest. Just added 5 more large amazon swords and some floating water sprite.