• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

FLuval Edge 23L Filter - Cleaning

Bopowarls

Good morning all,

Some advice please as I've got conflicting information in my fluval edge manual and the fluval website.

My filter is set up as a foam filter, biological biomax filter and then a carbon filter. How often should I be cleaning (rinsing in tank water) each of the filter media (should I ever clean the biological filter?) or how often should I be changing out the filters?

My manual says to change the bio and carbon every alternative month for a new one and the foam every 2 months. Their website says to change every 6 months...

This is my first time with a tank so any advice would be appreciated.

Owen

The is rather like those bio-enhancers ;)

I’ve not run an Edge so can’t manage to picture the foam at the moment, but if it’s anything like the foam quality used in Fluval’s Spec series, I’ve run the same foam blocks for years, I also just rinse the “biomedia” ceramic bits and run those for a good line while (bit more difficult to determine if these are “blocked” compared to the foams)

I rarely run any carbon ... I’m cheap I guess ... well, OK, it’s mostly my lazy character flaw that can’t be bothered with the proper running of carbon (note most freshwater carbon is low grade, poor activity stuff - if you want to effectively use carbon (for its intended activity), then buy marine grade carbon)
- at least in this regard, Fluval is current, carbon must be replaced regularly, though if that tiny bit of carbon (in those expensive boxes) can last 2 months, it must be magic carbon (it’s certainty not high grade so it must be a spell that keeps it working for that long :wideyed:)

Rinse media in treated tap water or tank water - makes no difference, go for convenience BUT don’t rinse foam etc in the actual tank