• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Going biotopish

JeffK

Hey everyone,

Long time lurker and admirer of all your great looking tanks here. Although I have found my niche elsewhere, I'm impressed by the knowledge of the people from this forum.

I hope by sharing my tanks and exchanging information, we can help eachother further in this amazing hobby.

While I have three tanks, only one is really up for show, and recently I've been trying to make videos rather than taking pictures. While blackwater biotopes are beautiful to see, the low light and darker water make it very hard to take decent pictures. Filming isn't much better, but there's a better chance of capturing the right moments.

Now, this is my first attempt at videomaking, so the quality isn't amazing, but here you go (you might want to turn up your screen brightness):

Tank: Akvastabil Fusion 130
Dimensions: 130W x 50D x 50H cm
Lights: 2x Fluval Aqusky
Filter: JBL Cristalprofi 1502e
Inhabitants: Microctenopoma fasciolatum, Congochromis dimidiatus, Distichodus decemmaculatus, Distichodus sp. Lefini, Phenacogrammus aurantiacus
Plants: Crinum calamistratum, Pistia stratiotes

I do bi-weekly water changes with 100% RO water.

I know you guys like plants, but the Distichodus make it their life mission no plants survive in this tank. So far, the only plants they've ignored, is the Crinum. The floating plants survive, but their roots never fully develop. Even Anubias end up getting eaten.

Thanks for watching and reading, everyone!

That looks great, good choice of fish too.

Those distochodus sp lefini are something special.

Cheers

Conor

I always enjoy biotope tanks, I worry there'd be algae struggles with such low plant mass? But prehaps that's compensated for by low light..