• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Has anyone used an automatic roller filter such as Clarisea in their sump?

Forever Fishtank

Seedling
I am new to planted tanks with sumps (have set up several with canisters over the last 4 years and have 3 on the go right now). Since I love sumps in my reef tanks, I thought I’d try a planted tank with one. For reefs, automatic roller filters are the way to go. Have people used them with planted tank sumps? Do they work well? My main worry is that since planted tanks generate a lot of debris, the roll may get used up far too quickly, making it a very expensive choice. I’d love to hear your experiences. Thanks in advance.

I had a sock on the down pipe, can’t say much debris was caught, now its just on if I have done a prune, as it was just catching shrimp

seen a micro trummel drum filter, where some one has made a very small version of a pond filter, that would probably be better than the loo roller, how expensive is a new roll?

I had a sock on the down pipe, can’t say much debris was caught, now its just on if I have done a prune, as it was just catching shrimp

seen a micro trummel drum filter, where some one has made a very small version of a pond filter, that would probably be better than the loo roller, how expensive is a new roll?
Thanks for the insight. It sounds like there shouldn’t be that much debris except at trimming. The rolls are about 20 pounds each. They are supposed to last for 2 months. So the idea is that you change your filter 6 times a year as opposed to 150 swaps of the socks. And I know from my canister filters that I am terrible about cleaning sponges. Which was the source of my worry - when I do get to clean the filters out, they are filthy. But I do it once every month or two. Perhaps, spread out on a daily basis there isn’t that much.