• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Have I Got This Right???

padlock

ok im getting annoyed with not doing this right so have decided to make the investment.

C02: 2kg FE, rhinox CO2 tubing, ebay single dial reg, ebay fine tuner for the gas, nano diffuser. i'm a student on a budget so want my equipment cheap as possible, is there any other reccomended kit?

Substrate: its a juwel tank with inert gravel as current substrate, i'm thinking of stripping the tank and re-scaping, can i use a 1-1.5" layer of play sand with pure laterite underneath, can i have more sand without having anaerobic problems? would laterite be recommended?

Filter: bog standard juwel filter with hidden heater, sponges and 280 l/h pump

Circulation: Clearseal SP1200 powerhead, i just ordered this off ebay but can put it in my malawi tank if not needed, it comes out at around 15-16x combined turnover with the filter, is it too much, should i make a DIY spray bar to spread flow?

Lighting: 1x 15 watt bulb powered by a 40 watt ballast, i know its not at all ideal but thats what i have, the bulb is brighter than the same watt bulb with matching ballast. my juwel light unit that was recently running with the ballast has recently packed it in, unfortunatley, i can take the hood off my old rekord 60 if needed but if what i have will suffice it would be better

Ferts: EI method, if anyone can help me with this i much appreciate it, i have potassium nitrate, mono potassium phosphate and trace elements mix, do i use heaped teaspoons?

my plants are:
Rotala Rotundifolia *
bacopa monnieri
Vallis. Torta
Anubias Eyes
Pogostemon Helferi *
Saggitaria Subulata
Elocharis
Echinodoris Tennellus
Hemianthus Callitrichoides "cuba" *
Microsorium Pteropus "Narrow" or "Windelov" *
*= ordered but not in current set-up